Four-legged friendship

Yesterday, within the space of two hours, I was knocked down by one of life’s lows and then lifted right up again by one of its highs..

Kira and her brother Albert - she's in front

Kira and her brother Albert - she's in front

.

First the low. I brought my sweet, smart, nearly 18-years-old cat Kira home from the vet, knowing I was bringing her home to die. Even at her advanced age, she’s very sprightly, when she suddenly seemed frail I knew something was wrong. The vet said her lungs had nearly filled with fluid and it was amazing she was still alive. After an overnight stay that involved draining the fluid, some time in an oxygen box and a spell on a drip she seemed her old self again, demanding very vocally to come home. But the diagnosis is cancer and it’s only a matter of days before the lungs fill again and I have to take her back to the vet for her last visit… All I can do is cherish her and make her last days comfortable. Eighteen years is a long time to share with a little four-legged friend. I’ve had her since she was a kitten and will miss her terribly. I know I’m lucky to have had her for as long as I have – and happily I still have her brother. I won’t blog when she passes, I’ll be too heartbroken…

My little old lady

My little old lady

Now the high. My darling Kira was lying purring in the sun in the courtyard when a delivery came. My author copies of Love is a Four-Legged Word! The book is awesome, the pink foil on the cover a surprise and a lovely quote from best-selling author Julie James praising my book as “A delicious, fast-paced read.” Thank you Julie and thank you Berkley for such a beautifully designed book. And thanks to the delivery man for bringing that box of books at just the right time.

WHAT I’M READING NOW: Touched by the Devil by John Clarke & Andy Shea. Some research into the mind of a psychopath, to help give authenticity to a villain I am creating. This is a chilling book but very useful to a writer.

2 thoughts on “Four-legged friendship

  1. Hallos! I just saw your book on Magical Musings and have bookmarked it for the next time I’m on a book buying binge. Congratulations–it looks really cute.

    Even cuter are the photos of you and your dogs celebrating.

    Less cute are the psychokillers, but for the record my fave psycho books were by John Douglas. A friend also lent me The Sociopath Next Door, which now has me going around thinking everyone’s psychotically crazy.

    Good luck with your sales. 🙂

  2. Hi Mabel
    Great to hear from you. I hope you enjoy LOVE IS A FOUR-LEGGED WORD! I’m glad you like the dog party, they look so cute don’t they?
    Kandy

Leave a Reply

